In Search of Snow at Schilt

While in Central Switzerland (Andermatt region) there is now (November 2014) up to 2m of snow, the snow cover further North or East is not great yet. With the usual fog in the Swiss “Mittelland” during the winter and also this weekend, I wanted to get some sun and drove to the Glarus valley, taking Zora, our dog, along. I drove the car to the Naturfreundehaus Fronalp about 1380m (http://www.fronalp.ch/home/index.php), a mountain restaurant with great views (open all winter).

I was greeted by green pastures and a ski touring couple coming down from the popular Schilt mountain (tour report here). The encouraged me to go further.

Skitourers heading down from Schilt
IMG_3872c

And after about 1 hour of walking, I was able to put on the skis (and Zora enjoyed her frist snow this season). I skinned up for about 1 hour and then “called it a day” as the sun was getting low.

Me, Zora and the Mürtschenstock (in the back)
IMG_3896c

The sking down was not great (as expected), but at least no rocks scratched my skis. PS: I guess Zora enjoyed this trip more than I did.
IMG_3892c

Gallery | This entry was posted in Central Switzerland, Easy Tours, This Seaon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

